OpenOffice: It Works when you Least Expect it

I was buzzing around a few local chamber of commerce sites today and I was mostly interested in how much they cost to join. Both sites had you download a form. One form was in PDF and the other form was a Microsoft Excel document.

Good old OpenOffice handled it like a charm. The document opened perfectly. There were no formatting errors and the graphics came down in place.

I love when OpenOffice works like it is supposed to. It is really encouraging. I hope that doesn’t sound too negative. I shouldn’t be surprised because there are developers around the world that work on OpenOffice, all determined to make is a superb tool.
Think about that for a second. Open source software is made up of people who just love this type of technology, and their outlet is looking under the hood and tinkering until the machine is running in tip-top shape.

I mostly use Writer and Calc, so right now I’m biased towards them. But I expect to find great things with the presentation, drawing, and database. I actually have a drawing project on the horizon.

[off topic: I’m writing this on an Ubuntu system and it is wicked slow … I’ll need to investigate further what the deal is! ]

Leave a Reply

